Indo-German Energy FORUM 2019

The recent visit of German Federal Chancellor Dr Angela Merkel from October 31 to November 1 saw both the countries strengthening cooperation in the field of renewable energy and identifying green mobility as an important area of collaboration.

The 8th meeting of the Indo–German Energy Forum (IGEF) concluded on 1st November 2019 in New Delhi. The Forum was co-chaired by Shri Sanjiv Nandan Sahai, Secretary of State, Ministry of Power from the Indian side and Shri Christian Hirte, Secretary of State, Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy, Germany.

Both co-chairs were updated on the ongoing cooperation in flexibilization of thermal power plants, renewable energies, demand-side energy efficiency and green energy corridors.

The Forum finalized the roadmap for future collaboration between the two countries with specific activities being approved by the Indian and the German Ministries. Amongst others, specific activities include power plant operator training, promotion of niche markets for Solar Energy, further activities related to energy efficiency in buildings, building materials and credit lines for financing corresponding measures as well as support to RE evacuation through state-of-the-art intra-state and inter-state transmission grid infrastructure.
Eight implementation agreements and MoUs worth more than 200 million Euros have been signed by the Ministry of Power and Ministry of New and Renewable Energy with their German counterparts.

Alongside the 8th Energy Forum, several networking events and conference sessions were organised to bring together stakeholders from the private sector as well as Indian and German government. The same was attended by 2 ministers, the honourable ambassador of Germany and 7 state secretaries. State secretary Shri Christian Hirte welcomed the high ranked officials from government as well as companies’ representatives at the IGEF evening reception, which was co-hosted by German Embassy and Indo-German Chamber of Commerce.

Women Empowering the Energy Transition

Dr. Christine Falken-Grosser, Head of Division, German Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy (BMWi) inaugurated the conference session on Women Empowering the energy transition.

Ms. Kanika Chawla, Director CEEW Centre for Energy Finance moderated the session with a strongly female shaped panel: 

  • Mr. Christine Lins, Executive Director at the Global Women’s Network for the Energy Transition 
  • Dr. Rashi Gupta, Managing Director at Vision Mechatronics Pvt. Ltd.
  • Ms. Ritu Lal, Senior Vice-President and Head of Institutional Relations at Amplus Solar and
  • Mr. Gaurav Mehta, Founder & CEO at Dharma Life

The session received a high number of participants with strong involvement in the on-going panel discussion. 

Panel Discussion on Market and System Integration of Renewable Energies

The second-panel discussion hosted six German and Indian experts addressing the topic of Market and System Integration of Renewable Energies. In his keynote, Prof. Dr. Eicke Weber, Vice-President of the International Solar Energy Society (ISES) and former Director of the Fraunhofer Institute for Solar Energy Systems made the audience aware of the fact, that the worldwide solar disruption has just begun. Shri K.V.S. Baba, CEO of Power System Operation Corporation Ltd. Pointed out the challenges with large scale renewable energy dispatch in India. Dr. Oliver Then, Executive Managing Director, VGB PowerTech e.V., Germany, presented VGB’s measures of integrating renewable energies into the grid system, like storage solutions. Whereas business developer Dr. Jochen Dirksmeyer, wpd Offshore, Germany focused on Offshore grid integration and India’s potential in this area, Mr. Joerg Doerner, Business Development Head Energy Transition Technologies, Siemens AG presented Siemens deep decarbonization core portfolio, stating examples of real labor project examples. Finally, Mr. Krause-Tuenker, CFO at Next2sun, presented advantages of vertical Agrophotovoltaic systems to support the PV grid integration.

High Level Panel Discussion on Inter-Ministerial support to the Energy Transition

The highlight and last session of the day, addressing Inter Ministerial support to the Energy Transition was moderated by Dr. Ajay Mathur, Director General at The Energy Resource Institute (TERI). The panel gathered high rank state secretaries from Germany just as Ms. Bettina Hagedorn, Parliamentary State Secretary, Federal Ministry of Finance and Mr. Norbert Barthle, Parliamentary State Secretary, Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development (BMZ), as well as high level respresentatives from India, Shri Praveen Kumar, Special Secretary, Ministry of New and Renewable Energy (MNRE), Goverment of India, and Shri Jatindra Nath Swain, Managing Director at Solar Energy Cooperation of India (SECI) Ltd.