Subgroup III Meeting on Energy Efficiency

The Indo-German Energy Forum (IGEF) organised a Subgroup III meeting on the topic of "Energy Efficiency" on 23 June 2022 in New Delhi. The meeting was chaired by Ms. Schmid-Lübbert, German Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Climate Action (BMWK) and Shri Abhay Bakre, Bureau of Energy Efficiency (BEE) under the Indian Ministry of Power (MoP). Among other things, both discussed the question in which sectors green hydrogen can play a greater role in the future and where direct electrification may be the more efficient solution. A corresponding study is to be driven forward by the IGEF Support Office.

Co-Chair Shri Bakre briefed his German counterpart on the recent developments in India’s power sector. India is said to be the fastest growing energy market in the world with very ambitious targets for energy efficiency and renewables. Co-Chair Ms. Schmid-Lübbert also welcomed the participants from Germany and India. She briefed her Indian counterpart on the recent policy developments under the new German Government.

Mr. P.V. Kiran Ananth, Confederation of Indian Industry (CII) gave a presentation on the outcomes of the study “Energy Efficiency in the Iron and Steel Sector”. The national steel policy looks at about 300 million tonnes of steel production by 2030 which has important implications for a sector with investment cycles of 40 years and more.

Mr. Markus Wypior provided an update on an ongoing project on district cooling in India. Due to the change in the Government of Germany, the responsibilities within the International Climate Initiative have changed from the German Federal Ministry for the Environment, Nature Conservation, Nuclear Safety and Consumer Protection (BMUV) to the German Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Climate Action (BMWK). In this regard, the project has just been extended.

Both Co-Chairs appreciated the outcomes of the Subgroup III meeting. On behalf of the Ministry of Power, Government of India, Shri Bakre thanked his Co-Chair and the participants for a meaningful meeting. Both Co-Chairs look forward to further fruitful cooperation.